An Uninspiring Yarn ? think again !

Spice Garden Scarf

Woven on a Butterfly loom

Sometimes a yarn can look totally uninspiring in its unknitted state – or even attract outright ridicule. The orange yarn in this scarf was likened to naughty Norman Prices hair by my youngest son (an avid Fireman Sam fan) and my daughters’ response upon seeing it was “yuck” you’ll never make anything nice from that. It was from a mixed bag of yarn from http://www.yarnsupplies.co.uk and is indeed my most hated fibre – acrylic. After making some squares on my butterfly loom and crocheting a border it has made up into a lovely scarf and I had to laugh when my teenagers started to argue about who I should give it to !

So my motto is – if a yarn looks uninspiring – experiment – you might be pleasantly surprised!

2 thoughts on “An Uninspiring Yarn ? think again !

Leave a Reply

