In search of a new favourite yarn

I have had a favourite yarn for years – it’s King Cole Superwash Merino 4ply. I used this yarn exclusively when I designed and knitted baby cardigans, jumpers and hats which I sold to high end baby shops. I had a little team of knitters who knitted the items which were then sent them back to me so I could add hand embroidered details. I loved designing the baby knits and the quality of the knits was fab using this yarn – the yarn is smooth, soft, and in a lovely range of colours.

IMG_0346

The old shade of King Cole Merino above

A couple of years into producing knits with this yarn I noted with disappointment that shade card had changed and the gorgeous baby pink had turned in to a shade nearer to mauve.

IMG_0448

The new shade of King Cole Merino

The baby blue had also turned slightly brighter. The shops I designed for loved the muted shades of cream, baby blue and baby pink so was a blow that they were no longer available. I got offered a job back in primary teaching so left the knitting business behind but I am contemplating returning to this side of my business alongside pattern writing. There are lots of issues to consider -costs are a obviously big factor so out will come the calculator to see if I can make it viable. I am on a research mission to find fantastic yarns both for pattern designs and for the production side of my knitting business. The world of yarn has changed a lot since I was last creating. There are so many amazing small businesses providing unique yarn – hand dyed – hand spun – eco friendly – fair trade – the list goes on. I’ve learn to spin in the intervening years so the idea of producing my own line of yarns is also a possibility. Being the yarn addict that I am I am having an amazing time searching for my new favourite yarn. What’s your favourite yarn?

<

One thought on “In search of a new favourite yarn

  1. It is such a shame that celebrities must starve
    themselves in these extreme Dieting Calorie Intake ways,
    in order to loose weight and have slim body.
    After we are done with our food we throw the packaging in the garbage and most Americans never even think about reading the instructions until I absolutely had to.

    We don’t have to run in heavy exercise.

Leave a Reply

