Weaving, Spinning, knitting

Are you ever torn between crafts ? After the excitement of the e spinners arrival I remembered that on my to do list for this week was the weaving of a wrap for my mum in laws birthday. I was gifted some cones of very fine 1 ply merino some time ago, as well as lots of cones of machine knitting yarn. By combining these cones I designed a lovely warp in the reed – my favourite way to work. You simply warp as the mood takes you with no preconceived plan of what the warp will look like, apart from the colours you have chosen.

20130321-185625.jpg
I used the same yarns to wind a multi coloured warp – this plain weave needed to be done quickly as the gift is needed for Friday. As I sat weaving this afternoon I tuned in to the simple joy of weaving and my mind wandered to the possibilities of another loom in the future – a four shaft maybe ?
Spinning, knitting, weaving – I love them all equally – and wish there were more hours in the day.

20130321-190117.jpg

Leave a Reply

